Switch to Office 365: Update my Apple Mail

Switch to Office 365: Update my Apple Mail

Step 1: Add your new Office 365 inbox

  1. Open Mail.
  2. From the menu bar, select Mail, then Preferences.
    select mail and then select preferences
  3. Select Accounts.
  4. Select + (plus), then Microsoft Exchange, and then Continue.
    select plus, microsoft exchange, and then select continue
  5. Enter your Name and Email Address, and then select Sign In.
  6. Select Sign In again to let Microsoft locate your account information.
  7. Enter your email Password, and then select Sign In (You might need to select your account type as Work or school, not Personal, to continue).
  8. The app will request permission to your account. Select Accept.
  9. Select Done to confirm the apps you want to use with this account.

Your email account is now added.

Step 2: Disable or delete your old account

Warning:

Before you delete or disable your old account, confirm that the following conditions have been met before proceeding with the steps below

  • Please confirm that the new Exchange account is sending and receiving messages. (This is scheduled to occur on Tuesday, November 29).
  • Please compare it with your new Exchange account to make sure all your emails, folders, calendars, contacts and other data are present. If anything’s missing, drag and drop the item from your old account into your Exchange account.
  • If you want to delete your old account (as opposed to merely disabling them), please make sure you have all your data in your new Exchange account before continuing. After you delete your account, your data isn’t recoverable.
  1. From the menu bar, select Mail, then Preferences.
    select mail and then select preferences
  2. Select Accounts.
  3. Select your POP or IMAP account, then choose whether to disable or delete your account.
    • Disable your account: Under Account Information, uncheck the box next to Enable this account.
      uncheck box next to enable this account
    • Delete your account: Select  (minus), and then select OK to confirm you want to delete the account. After your account’s deleted, your mail, contacts and calendar aren’t recoverable.
      select minus symbol under account you want to remove

When you close the account window, you’ll only see your Exchange account listed in Mail.